I love the Big Blue Bear

Living, as it is, in a city with little to no public art, I sometimes get a little giddy at the effusive displays of creativity in public spaces in the places to which I travel.  With limited time to fully explore Denver, I still managed to come across a number of really interesting pieces of public art.

First, the striking “The Yearling” by Donald Lipski outside of their public library downtown.  Indeed, a horse standing atop of a chair.  Love this:

The YearlingA short walk away, tucked in behind the Denver Art Museum is “Scottish Angus Cow and Calf” by Dan Ostermiller:

Scottish Angus Cow and Calf

Marking the entrance to the Denver Art Museum is “Big Sweep” by Claes Oldenburg and Coosje van Bruggen.  Not only is it impressive in style, but the colours jump out from the neutral background of the Daniel Libeskind designed museum:Big SweepI really didn’t know much about Mark di Suvero until I came across a great piece of his in the Olympic Sculpture Park in Seattle about a year ago.  His piece here in Denver, “Lao Tzu” (or as it’s called locally “the big orange thing”) is of a similar vein and quite interesting and fascinating in its mechanical representation:

Lao TzuI found this installation, entitled “Wheel” or “Nah Kev Ho Eya Zim” quite fascinating to walk around.  By Hock E Aye Vi Edgar Heap of Birds, there are ten tree like pillars with inscriptions on them telling the history and future of Native Americans in Colorado.

Of course, no trip to Denver would be complete without spending some time at “I See What You Mean” by Lawrence Argent.  Located just outside the Denver Convention Center, I got to walk right by this each day of my conference.  Each time I did, it brought a huge ear to ear smile to my face.

I See What You Mean

I See What You MeanReally, what’s not to like about a gigantic blue bear peering into the convention center?  This really is my favourite piece of public art ever.  The playful touch of the bear’s inquisitiveness in looking inside a venue that brings people together to share knowledge and be curious makes it a perfect fit for the function of the space.  The sheer magnitude of it draws people toward it, and hence, toward the knowledge just on the other side of the glass.  I think this is brilliant, approachable, and best of all, fun.

I See What You Mean

2 thoughts on “I love the Big Blue Bear

  1. Pingback: Public art in Philadelphia | Travels and Football

  2. Pingback: Public art in the Loop | Bluenose Traveler

Leave a Reply

