Monti: Home away from home

I sometimes spend too much time fretting over which neighbourhood to make as a home base  when visiting a city.  For our trip to Rome, I went back and forth debating where to stay.  Not to pat myself on the back too much, but sticking with my gut on staying in Monti is one of the better travel planning decisions I’ve made in a long time.

I completely fell in love with this area of Rome.  Monti started to pull on my heart strings immediately, even as I was jet lagged and dragging my suitcase from the subway to our hotel on the way in from the airport.   There were cobblestones (I’m a sucker for cobblestones), small shops lining the narrow streets, people spilling out of bars enjoying a drink and not a chain store or restaurant anywhere in sight.  The visuals of this place will be what I will always associate with Rome.  Below are a few of my favourite photos in what turned out to be far too little time in beautiful, quaint, Monti.

 

2 thoughts on “Monti: Home away from home

  1. Pingback: Looking back on 2014 | Bluenose Traveler

  2. Pingback: Last day in Rome | Bluenose Traveler

Leave a Reply

