Moments in Spain

I have found that, for me at least, the perfect travel moments are elusive and quiet, yet end up being the memories that I cherish most when I return home. Those moments will almost never occur if I try to plan or architect them, but usually just sneak up on me, most times when I least expect them.

This trip to Spain had some remarkable moments, the majority of which had nothing to do with the litany of beautiful sights in Seville, Madrid and Cordoba. I got chills standing with 32,000 Real Betis football fans while they sang to their team before a late Saturday night kickoff.  I was drawn to an open window of our apartment in Seville by the sound of three girls practicing their flamenco steps in the cobblestone street two stories below. I’ll always smile recalling the joy on my wife’s face when she could order liberally from a gluten-free tapas menu of a little place in Madrid that had some of the best food of our entire trip.  I was riveted by the scene of a man watching over his grandson as he fed pigeons in Plaza Mayor, and to him turning a blind eye when the boy would eat his bread from the ground before the birds could get to it.  Simple things.

Plaza Mayor, Madrid

Spain got its tentacles into me, slowing me down and making me savour so many simple pleasures: an afternoon glass of cava on the roof of our Seville apartment, sleeping in until well past noon to the sounds of Spanish conversations from the streets below, or the taste of a perfect slice of Iberico ham melting away on my tongue.  Yes, there were a lot of ham moments.  And olives.  Oh those olives!

This was a trip I had dreamt about for years, and after two spectacular weeks in Spain, I left compelled to come back to explore so much more of this beautiful, unique country.  I’ll write much, much more in the weeks and months ahead…

3 thoughts on “Moments in Spain

  1. I understand the feeling! I absolutely love Spain. The culture really does force you to slow down and enjoy the little things in life. The country is so diverse with so much to offer! 🙂

  2. I couldn’t agree more! I had a similar feeling in Spain and it remains today one of my favourite places in the world! I felt like I was home even though it was my first time there and I’m not even Spanish!

Leave a Reply

