A few days back home

It was a long overdue trip back to Halifax. Actually, to Lower Sackville to be exact. I had moved to Saskatoon eight months earlier and was well into making that city my new home. But it was time for a trip “back home” to see my mom and dad. After a bit of an ordeal due to a canceled flight, I made it to Nova Scotia, about 12 hours later than I planned, to my parents waiting for me at the Halifax airport like they have so many times over the years. This arrival was much different and definitely more emotional.

Lots of hugs and a few tears later, we hopped into the car for the half hour drive to my parents’ home, the very house I grew up in. There was one more hello – this one more frantic and crazed – as Tia and I reunited. After she calmed down, she took up residence on my lap, a place she spent most of the next few days.

Tia on my lap

As this was a pre-Xmas visit, I was looking forward to my mom’s baking, in particular, her delicious mincemeat squares. I probably ate close to half my body weight of these over my visit.

Mom's mincemeat squares

Although this trip was simply about reconnecting with my parents, one afternoon, dad and I went into Halifax for a quick look around. He wanted to see my expression at all of the changes in the city since I moved. To fuel our walking tour of my old stomping grounds, we had lunch at what was essentially my second living room for much of my time living in downtown Halifax – the Carleton. Their frites and mussels were a Friday night after work staple and on this day were as delicious as ever!

Lunch at the Carleton w/ Dad

And here are the two fine looking fellas just before we polished off the last sip of our respective pints.

img_2551

It was interesting to see what had changed in the city. New buildings had gone up, others that were partially finished when I left were now complete. It was a good reminder that the world moves on.

As we were downtown, I wasn’t getting back on a plane before taking a walk along the harbour, something I did frequently when I lived in Halifax. Mother Nature even dialled up a traditional grey day to make it feel like old times.

Halifax waterfront

And as we were on the waterfront, dad and I stopped at Bishops Cellar, which was my go-to boutique liquor store a few blocks from my old condo. Missing Nova Scotia beer back in Saskatoon, I picked four I hadn’t tried before to pack away in my luggage. These went well with a couple of Sundays watching football back in Saskatoon.

Nova Scotia beers

This was far too short a visit, but I’m glad I got back. The highlight for me was all of the time spent sitting on a chair, usually with a dog on my lap, listening to mom and dad tell stories I’ve heard hundreds of times. I’m already looking forward to my next trip back in June.

Leave a Reply

